severn estuary european marine site quick facts quick facts contacts

quick facts publications links website map/search
Stage 1 - Relevant authority training on the Habitats Regulations
Stage 2 - Foundation document
Stage 3 - Identification of key activities
Stage 4 - Inventory of activities
Stage 5 - Analysis of activities
Stage 6 - Assessment of activities
Stage 7 - Monitoring
Stage 8 - Management scheme

Stage 7 - Monitoring. In order to establish whether the conservation objectives are being met, a monitoring programme of the condition of all the interest features is required. English Nature and the Countryside Council for Wales will report to the Secretary of State via the Joint Nature Conservation Committee on the condition of each interest feature and the site every six years. In addition other relevant authorities will be responsible for monitoring the activities as identified within the management scheme.

A detailed monitoring programme will, therefore be developed in parallel to the management scheme, actions arising through the management scheme process will help prioritise future monitoring requirements within the programme

Find out about the stages in greater detail:
Stage 2, Stage 3, Stage4, Stage 5, Stage 6, Stage 7, Stage 8

copyright policy