Who's Who

North Devon and Somerset Coastal Group


Contact Details
Chairman: Cllr Humphrey Temperley
Technical Secretary: Angela Proctor, 01392 352409
[email protected]


Background of Organisation

The North Devon & Somerset Coastal Group(ND&SCG) is one of the 18 voluntary regional coastal defence groups covering the English and Welsh coastlines. In the main, they comprise representatives of the 105 maritime district councils, English Nature, the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA), the National Assembly of Wales and the Environment Agency.All chairmen meet DEFRA, National Assembly of Wales and English Nature representatives at the Coastal Defence Forum where they discuss common issues and look to develop a common, national approach.

ND&SCG is formed by the following local authorities: Devon County Council, North Devon District Council,Sedgemoor District Council, Torridge District Council, West Somerset District Council. Associate member include: AONB, Ravensrodd Consultants, Severn Estuary Partnership, WS Atkins SW.

Organisational Objectives

The ND&SCG main objectives are :

  • To provide a point of contact between those with an interest in, or responsibility for managing the coast from Hartland Point to Brean Down.
  • To establish and implement a management framework for reviewing and amending the Shoreline Management Plan (SMP)
  • To ensure consistency in all aspects of shoreline management planning.
  • To liaise and work with adjacent coastal cell groups and other interested parties in order to develop a regional maintenance strategy.
Relevant Policies, Projects & Activities

A Shoreline Management Plan has been produced for Hartland Point to Brean Down.