Who's Who

A Guide to 'Who does What' on the Severn Estuary

To search for details of the organisations around the Estuary, please click on the links below to view organisations by sector


National Government

Department for Communities and Local Government
Department for Culture, Media & Sport
Department of Energy & Climate Change (DECC)
Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
Department for Transport
Welsh Government


Local Authorities

Bristol City Council
Cardiff Council
Forest of Dean District Council
Gloucester City Council
Gloucestershire County Council
Monmouthshire County Council
Newport City Council
North Somerset Council
Sedgemoor District Council
Somerset County Council
South Gloucestershire Council
Stroud District Council
Tewkesbury Borough Council
The Vale of Glamorgan
Weston-Super-Mare Town Council
West Somerset District Council


Statutory Agencies and Authorities

Cadw: Welsh Historic Monuments
Caldicot & Wentloog Levels IDB
Cynnal Cymru
Devon and Severn Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority
English Heritage
Environment Agency
Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC)
Marine Management Organisation
Natural England
Natural Resources Wales
Regen SW
Visit Britain
Visit England
Visit Wales


Ports and Harbours

Associated British Ports, ABP
Bristol Port Company
Cardiff Harbour Authority
Gloucester Harbour Trustees
Newport Harbour Commissioners
Portishead Marina
Sedgemoor/Bridgwater Harbour Authority
Sharpness Marina
The Bristol Port Company
Watchet Harbour


UK Nationwide Organisations

Country Land and Business Association, Avon/Somerset
National Farmers Union (South West)
National Farmers Union (Wales)
South West Tourism Ltd
Sports Council for Wales
Sport England


Estuary Management and Research Groups

Association of Severn Estuary Relevant Authorities (ASERA)
North Devon & Somerset Coastal Group (ND&SCG)
Severn Estuary Coastal Group (SECG)
Severn Estuary Conservation Group
Severn Estuary Partnership, SEP
Standing Conference of Severnside Local Authorities (SCOSLA)


The Private Sector

Boskalis Westminster
Business West, West England Strategic Partnership
C.F. Spencer & Co. Ltd
Confederation of British Industries
Crest Nicholson Marinas Ltd
EDF Energy
Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers
Severn Trent Plc
Welsh Water - Dwr Cymru
Wessex Water


Environmental Groups

Bristol Regional Environmental Records Centre (BRERC)
British Association for Shooting and Conservation
Cardiff Naturalists Society
Council for the Protection of Rural England
Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group
Gwent Wildlife Trust
Marine Conservation Society
RSPB England
RSPB Cymru
Severn Rivers Trust
Trust for the Promotion of Environmental Awareness
Wentloog Wildfowling & Conservation Association
WWT Slimbridge
Wildlife Trusts, The

Local Community / Action Groups

Clevedon Civic Society
Gordano Footpath Group
Magnificent Severn
Severn Princess Preservation Group


Recreation Groups

Barry Yacht Club
Brean Landyacht Club
Bristol Channel Yachting Association
Bristol Cruising Club
Gloucestershire Wildfowlers Association
National Association of Boat Owners
National School Sailing Association
Portishead Cruising Club
Ramblers Association
Seaview Lad's Fishing Club
Welsh Yachting Association
Weston Bay Yachting Club Ltd
Youth Hostel Association, England and Wales


Culture and Archaeology

Bristol and Gloucestershire Archaeological Society
Bristol City Museum and Art Gallery
Cadw: Welsh Historic Monuments
English Heritage
Glamorgan - Gwent Archaeological Trust Ltd
Severn Estuary Levels Research Committee
Welsh Historic Gardens Trust


University and Research

Cardiff University
Severn Estuary Levels Research Committee
Severn Estuary Research Group
University of Glamorgan
University of Wales College, Newport


© 2002, 2009, site maintained by Severn Estuary Partnership | ContactCopyright